Within the context of the 2016 to 2019 electoral cycle, the EU reaffirmed its priority to continue supporting the process of electoral and democratic reforms that would enhance the capacity of Nigeria’s national institutions to discharge their statutory duties in an efficient, unbiased and non-partisan manner.


Anchored in the recommendations of the 2015 EU EOM report, and national priorities and policies, this action works according to three intertwined and mutually reinforcing strategies, and will run along the 2016-2019 electoral cycle.

First, it seeks to strengthen the administration of the electoral process by technical assistance to Nigeria's Electoral Management Bodies, particularly INEC given its broad and exclusive mandate to deliver elections at the federal and state level, as well as FOSIECON which has exclusive statutory mandate for the delivery of elections into the 774 local government councils in the 36 States.

Second, it aims to contribute to strengthening the democratic system by supporting key democratic institutions such as the National Assembly, political parties and media, including the National Broadcasting Commission,  the media regulatory  body,  to more effectively exercise their roles.


Third, it seeks to contribute to an enabling environment for legitimate, inclusive and peaceful elections by support to (i) reform of the legislative and policy framework, (ii) security agencies and ability to tackle electoral impunity and (iii) support to civil society organisations.


Specialised CSOs or organisations will be targeted to deliver specific capacity building activities and assist the key actors in addressing critical loopholes which need to be addressed in the electoral process, including transparency and accountability of the key public and policy actors  towards citizens.


EU also reaffirmed the relevancy to support efforts at building the advocacy capacity of relevant non-state actors as important stakeholders to engage in the electoral and electoral reform processes.


In this context, the Programme “EU Support to Democratic Governance in Nigeria”, which will span from 2017 to 2021, aims to contribute to the reinforcement of democracy in Nigeria through building strong, effective and legitimate democratic institutions.


The Programme is structured around five components, namely:

  •  the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC)
  • the National Assembly
  • the Political Parties
  • Media
  • Women, Youths and Marginalized Citizens; Civil Society Organisations and other Non- State Actors.


Taken together, the five components seek to contribute to the implementation of the Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 16 : promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels.